The Phantom EFX Message Board  

Go Back   The Phantom EFX Message Board > Tech Support > Tech Support (Off-Line)

Reply
 
Topic Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2010, 02:48 AM   #1
gizmo22170
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default Help... Games won't load

Hey I was wondering how I can fix my ghost town, gold rush and mystic forest games. See my problem is that on the launcher screen when I click on the game it tells me that I need the cd to play. The disk for the game is in my cdrom drive so I don't know whats going on... Can somebody give me any suggestions?? Thanks in advance
gizmo22170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 08:30 AM   #2
Linda
Administrator
 
Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,095
Default

Go to C:\Program Files\Phantom EFX\GAME NAME. Look for a file that says "Config." Double-click on this and you should see:

[global]
cdrompath=E:\

Change this "E" to a "D" (if "D" is the drive letter for your CD-Rom), then go to "file" and click "save." Now close out of this and try your game again.
__________________

Linda denOuden


Phantom EFX Facebook
Phantom EFX Twitter
Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 06:26 PM   #3
JMS0527
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I am experiencing the same kind of issues....

Reel Deal Adventure will usually fire up with the disc, but not always..sometimes it takes a few tries before I stop getting "CDROM Not Found, Please insert the disc labeled 'Adventure' into your CDROM drive and restart the application" errors.

Reel Deal Mystic Forest and Casino High Roller (same disc) has successfully launched a grand total of twice since I bought it three or so weeks ago...the rest of the time, I get the CDROM error...I have ejected and reinserted the disc more times than I can count trying to launch this

Reel Deal Vegas Casino Experience and Bonus Mania (same disc) required the disc at one point to play, but one day I discovered that I didn't need the disc at all...I could just launch from the desktop shortcut with no issues...this is frustrating because, as far as I'm concerned, you shouldn't have to put in a disc to play any of them once the games are installed

My computer has more than enough firepower to handle these games...the Microsoft C++ 2005 whatever didn't do anything, and the config file shows cdrompath = D:\ which is correct

Is it possible that my Mystic Forest/Casino High Roller/Card Games disc is defective? Otherwise, what do I need to do to get this fixed? None of the answers I've seen in other threads are helping
JMS0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 02:50 PM   #4
Linda
Administrator
 
Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 2,095
Default

It's possible that the disks are slightly scratched or dirty. Try cleaning them with a soft cloth and a light spray of glass cleaner.
__________________

Linda denOuden


Phantom EFX Facebook
Phantom EFX Twitter
Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:56 PM   #5
JMS0527
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

No go...waste of 20 bucks so far
JMS0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 05:00 AM   #6
gizmo22170
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Ive tried going into the config.ini folder but it doesn't even have the [global]
cdrompath=E:\

I added it and still nothing.. Any other suggestions??
gizmo22170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:03 PM   #7
JMS0527
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Mine said [main] instead of [global]

I found mine under C:\Program Files\Phantom EFX\OnlineCasino
JMS0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 12:09 PM   #8
Austin
Moderator
 
Austin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 116
Default

Alternatively, you may simply uninstall and reinstall the game to resolve the issue. This will force the game to redetect your disc drive and it will create the copyright protection code again from scratch.

Thank you.
__________________
Austin
QA
Phantom EFX
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 04:21 PM   #9
JMS0527
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default

I'll let you know what happens just as soon as my DVD-ROM actually believes there's a disc in there...

..which should only take about one or two hundred attempts
JMS0527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2010, 02:03 AM   #10
res
Bronze Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default config.ini fix worked for me

Thanks Linda.

I have the file in both the OnlineCasino and ReelDealLive subfolders. They both referenced the wrong drive letter and fixing them made the game able to find the game disc.

I think this fix belongs in a more prominent Reel Deal bug FAQ. I had a hard time finding this solution.
res is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Topic Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.